Historic Jersey buildings
If you own this property, have ancestors who lived here, or can provide any further information and photographs, please contact us through email@example.com
Rue de La Ville Bagot, St Ouen
Type of property
Former farmhouse with 18th century origins
No recent transactions
Families associated with the property
- Le Ruez: Owners in and before 1714
- Briard: The Briards acquired this property in the mid-to-late 18th century. Owners most likely included Elie Briard (1772-by 1841), husband in 1793 of Esther Barbier, daughter of Philippe and Jeanne, nee Vibert. Esther was still living in 1841. Their son, Elie Briard (1796- ) was of Petit Vallon, as was his wife, Susanne Vautier. Elie was described in the censuses as Farmer and Mariner. Their son Elie (1824-by 1851) and his wife Marie Jean, lived here, in their turn, as did their son, also named Elie (1847-1920), and his wife, Anne Elizabeth Brideaux. The 1881 and 1891 censuses record this last Elie as having been a Carpenter and Farmer of 13 acres, being about 32 vergées. He and his wife seem to have moved out by 1911, when the property was probably farmed by the Jean family
- Huelin: In 1941 George Reymond Huelin (1912- ) and his wife Alice Elizabth, née Baudains (1912- ) were living here with their daughter Mary Joyce
- ELR 1714 - For Edouard Le Ruez
Historic Environment Record entry
Rural small holding with 18th and 19th century origins, retaining historic character and features. The house sits in a very picturesque setting and adds much to the rural streetscape. Shown on the Richmond Map of 1795.
Two-storey three-bay main house with earlier building abutting to west, a dower wing to east and rear outbuildings.
The mahogany open staircase has a flat handrail, turned balusters, heavy sectional newel post, and applique to risers circa 1880. A late 19th century fireplace in the ground floor east room.